Skip to content

Cloth Diaper: Part IV

April 14, 2011

First of all, I want to apologize for not posting anything for a week, especially since I was in the middle of this series. But it was JBF week, so I was busy shopping and volunteering. And when I wasn’t at JBF, I was trying to catch up on stuff around the house. This week I have played catch-up with the house cleaning and our internet has been sporadic the past couple of days. But now I’m back to the reviews.

Kawaii Diapers

My friend had her first baby last week and she has decided to cloth diaper. She is the one who inspired me to actually start using cloth (I’ve always wanted to, but she gave me the motivation to do it). She has decided to use Kawaii diapers based on the suggestion from another friend that has been using this brand for 10 months. Kawaii diapers are not a well-known brand but they are very inexpensive compared to other pocket diapers.

I read several negative reviews about Kawaii diapers when I was trying to decide which brands were worth trying out, and the low-cost really made me skeptical about the quality. But at $7 a diaper and knowing that they come highly recommended from people I know, I couldn’t NOT give them a try.

Overall Adjustability: The Kawaii has 3 rows of 2 snaps- within average for a pocket diaper.

Adjustable Waist Snaps: The layout of the snaps looks very similar to Fuzzibunz. The only difference is the four snaps on the bottom row on each side are in a straight row as opposed to being contoured around the leg openings.

Absorbency: I have not had any leaks with this diaper, day or night.

Bulkiness: I think the Kawaii diaper is probably the bulkiest of all the diapers I have tried.  Take a look for yourself.

I tried to tuck the diaper into her jeans, but it wouldnt go.

Longevity: Kawaii diapers are fairly new and there aren’t any reviews at the diaperpin.com from people who have used them for longer than 6 months. As mentioned above, the friend of a friend has been using them for 10 months without any issues.

Warranty: The warranty on these diapers is only for the first 90 days after purchase and you have to pay for the shipping to return them. In my opinion, this is the worst warranty policy of all the diapers I’m sampling.

Patterns available: There are 9 different patterns and 7 colors to choose from. I also believe that they are constantly getting new patterns and colors (but not restocking the old).

Cleaning: Both the packaging and website have a good amount of information on how to clean the diapers. The directions are basically the same as for most cloth diapers.

Cost: If you order these diapers directly from their website (theluvyourbaby.com) they are $6.99 for solid colors and $7.25 for patterns. This is an excellent price! If you order from another retailer you will probably pay $3-5 more, which is still better than most pocket diapers which run $17-20.

Overall: The diapers seem to be just as good as any of the others I have tried. In fact, they remind me a lot of the Fuzzibunz diapers without the adjustable elastic. Like I said earlier, I found only negative reviews about these diapers when I started my research. Since then, however, I have seen several positive reviews and lots of talk about Kawaii diapers on blogs and other places.

There are a few things that make me weary, though. The warranty policy isn’t good and because Kawaii is a newer product, it’s hard to tell if they will last through Kennedy and any more children in the future.

I should also mention that I’m not sure how honest the company is being about the working conditions where the diapers are made. The owner claims to live in Canada and admits that the diapers are made in China (not being made in the US is one of the biggest complaints from other users). I personally don’t mind buying products made outside the US, but I don’t know how I feel about purchasing products made in poor working conditions.

I am suspicious because of the extremely low-cost and because there are several grammar problems on the packaging and on the website– similar to grammar mistakes made when translating from Chinese to English. Surely, a company based in British Columbia where over 70% of the population speaks English would double-check their English before sending out the product or uploading content that is going to represent their company to the internet. This is taken directly from the website:

The workers are very happy and satisfy from their jobs.  The working place where they have to spend all day is neat, clean and well ventilated, that’s why they can produce the best quality diapers.

I can’t prove it, but I’m not sure I believe this. Another problem with Kawaii diapers is that they are difficult to purchase. Because of the low-cost, they are becoming popular very quickly and the company is having trouble keeping their diapers in stock. This is one reason why you might want to pay a little more to order from a different site, but even other retailers run out quickly. I checked the Kawaii Facebook page and it appears that they recently got new stock, but sold out in less than 24 hours. So, while I like these diapers and especially the cost, I’m just not comfortable filling my entire diaper stash with this brand.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

