Skip to content

Laundry Detergent

March 9, 2011

Back in Week 5 I told you about a test to see if you were using too much laundry detergent. I also promised I would do the test myself and then tell you about the results. Well, I was using too much detergent, which is great news!

I put two clean towels in the wash without any soap, set it to the hottest setting and then checked it five minutes after the wash cycle had started. This is what I found…

Look at all those soap suds

Those bubbles mean that I was using too much detergent.  I took a permanent marker and made a line about halfway down from the suggested amount line on the cap. A month later I’m using half the detergent I was before (and saving $$$) and I don’t notice my clothes being any dirtier.

I only fill the cap about 1/2 an inch now.

Did you do the laundry detergent test? If so, what did you find out?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Andrea permalink
    March 9, 2011 3:10 PM

    I also did the test and I too was using too much… Now if I could convince Kayode and Dub… I have told them but they continue to fill the cap to the top. I like your idea of marking the cap, I will give that a try and see how it works.

Trackbacks

  1. Cloth Diapers: Part I « Becoming a MANN
  2. Cloth Diapers: Part III « Becoming a MANN

Leave a Reply

