Skip to content

Week 6: the shower and its curtain

February 20, 2011

I’m torn on whether I should call this a good week or not. There were 2 days that I got everything completed on my lists, which up to this point hasn’t been done before, and one of those days I got it all done before dinner. :)  But there were also a couple of days that I barely got anything done. Here are the details:

Add 2 more tasks from Weekly Chores list each day (4/day total)– I’m starting to get into some stuff that hasn’t been done in a very long time. One of those: clean the shower. I’m a little embarrassed to show you these before pictures, but this is what my journey is all about. From now on my shower should always look like the after pictures here.

Before

After

Before

After

My shower curtain liner was even worse. Here are the before pictures:

 

 

 

 

 

I was very tempted to throw this out and buy a new one, but I decided to try and clean it first. I threw it in the wash with 2 towels, some detergent, and 1/2 cup of baking soda. I set the washing machine to the largest load and hottest temperature. After it ran through the cycle, I did an extra rinse and added a cup of vinegar. When it was finished, I was prepared to take out the towels and wash it once more with bleach, but to my surprise it was pretty clean. In fact it looked so good that I realized that it was actually quite a bit dirtier to start with than I originally thought. Here are the after pictures:

 

 

Sign up at tutor.com- this one has been put on hold. I’m still studying my calculus and as soon as I complete the book, I will sign up.

Begin selling clutter- uh-oh. This task fell on those couple of days that I didn’t get much done on my lists. But I’ll add it to next week’s tasks.

Your challenge for this week

Find one thing in your house that desperately needs cleaning and clean it. This shouldn’t be a room or an area that needs organization, but something that needs a scrub brush and a little elbow grease. Then come back here and tell me what is you cleaned and any other details about the project.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. kala permalink
    February 21, 2011 3:29 PM

    I have a question for you or your readers, does anyone know what to use on cast iron tubs, (it says on bleach not to use, it will turn it purplish.) my tub always looks dirty no matter how much i scrub it.

    • kala permalink
      February 21, 2011 8:48 PM

      i’m such i dork i don’t mean cast iron i mean porcelain tubes

Leave a Reply

