Skip to content

Week 1

January 29, 2011

As I said in my earlier post, I plan an adding at least one new post every week.  These posts will update you on how I did that week on achieving my goals. I won’t go through everything; instead I hope to share helpful information for you on your journey and other things of interest from the week.

I’m already a little behind on my posts. Right now I’m finishing up week 3, but this post will be about week 1 (to clarify, in my last past I referred to week 1 as being my goal-forming and planning week, I will now call that week 0, it just makes more sense if you are referring to the Week-by-Week Plan).  I want to add week 2 later this week and if I’m feeling really ambitious, I’ll add week 3 so that I’ll be completely caught up by next Sunday.

Week 1 Goals

Continue daily kitchen cleaning tasks– I would consider this one a success! I mentioned in the post here that I started using a chore planner from Motivated Moms. I loved it and would still suggest people use it. However, I wanted something that was a little more customizable. So I found this planner. It’s a little pricier, but worth it for the customization. You’ll hear me refer to this planner often and I’m hoping to get permission to post pictures each week so you can see what I got done on it and how I’m using it.

Get caught up on laundry – I’m still working on this one but I feel pretty good about the progress I’m making.  And if I had posted this right after week 1 I would have felt even better about it. I’m doing 2 loads of laundry a day until I get caught up and then it will just be 1 a day. I’ve also made a point to put the laundry away as soon as it comes out of the dryer. I’m shocked by how easy that actually is and how quickly it can be done. In my opinion, putting the laundry away is the worst part.

Have daily quiet times– GREAT! I have an app on my phone called You Version that includes several helpful tools for reading your Bible (including the Bible). I started a reading plan and devotion called the 21 Day Fast. I have been fasting from TV as I work through this study.

At first, I really struggled about whether I should share this information with you or not because scripture talks about not being obvious when you are fasting. But then one of the devotions talked about doing the fast in a group. The devotion asked about motives when sharing this information with others. My goal is not to make myself known or to seem better than thou. But instead, I hope that this can encourage and inspire you. By fasting from the television, I have been able to put aside the biggest distraction that keeps me from becoming the woman God wants me to be.

Wake up no later than 7 am– not going so great. The first week I progressively was waking up earlier and earlier but never at 7 am. The second week I got sick then had some snow days, and waking up early just went down hill from there. Anyone out there have any good tips for getting up early? Seriously, I need help on this one.

Create a family notebook– check. I want to do it more in-depth, but I have something functional for now. What is a family notebook, you ask? It’s where I keep my chore lists, grocery lists, my goals, calendar, and other information that pertains to the family. One day I will do a post on how to make your own, complete with pictures from mine.

Create a routine- done

And that is week 1! Did you make some goals and a plan for the new year? If so, how is it going so far?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Dana permalink
    January 29, 2011 11:49 PM

    Wal-mart super center has some nice family calendars for $7 near the garden center in the seasonal section. They may be helpful take a look next time your there.

  2. Pam permalink
    January 30, 2011 12:35 AM

    As you know we are not good at getting up early,maybe that’s why our job fits us. Staying caught up on laundry is hard with four people in the house,good job there!

  3. Andrea permalink
    February 3, 2011 2:55 PM

    I find it easier to get up early if I have a reason too. Wether be to have some me time before anyone else gets up, or get some cleaning done, (it is sooo much easier to clean when no one is distracting you), or homework, really any reason works just as long as you decide that, early is the only time you have to do it… Does that make sense?

Trackbacks

  1. Two-in-one: Weeks 3 & 4 « Becoming a MANN

Leave a Reply

