Skip to content

Ask the readers:

January 20, 2011

What simple things do you do to appreciate your spouse?

One of this week’s tasks is to create a list of ways that I can show my appreciation to Matt. I’m confident that I show my appreciation in small ways without really thinking about it; saying “I love you” or giving him a hug as we pass in the hallway. But I want to deliberately do something that takes a little more time and thought on a weekly basis. Here’s my list so far:

  • Make him a card
  • Rub his feet
  • Learn the rules of football and watch a game with him
  • Give him a pretend sick day
  • Tell others how wonderful he is
  • Make sure the house is clean so he can relax, then take the girls out for the afternoon
  • Cook his favorite meal
  • Write him a thank you note (maybe even mail it)
  • Write a note with 3 reasons I love him, appreciate him, am thankful for him, respect him, etc.

Alright, now its your turn. Ideas need to be simple and free (or super cheap) and have a PG or PG-13 rating. Give me your best ideas!

 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Kala permalink
    January 20, 2011 8:59 PM

    I always make my husband lunch for work and randomly slip little notes in his lunch bag.

  2. Dana permalink
    January 21, 2011 1:31 AM

    I see mine soooooo little how do you do this when he is NEVER in close proximity ?????

    • January 30, 2011 3:47 PM

      I’ve been thinking about this one for a while and finally remembered some stuff I’ve done with Matt. Right before we got engaged he went to China for a month. Before he left, I snuck into his suitcase and stuck little love notes all over the place so he would find them throughout the trip. I put them in pants pockets, books, toiletries bag, everywhere I could think of. You could also make a care package to send with him filled with his favorite foods and candy (and a love note). Make a CD of his favorite songs to listen to while he’s on the road.

  3. January 21, 2011 3:41 PM

    I try really hard to have dinner ready the INSTANT Mack walks in the door every day or else I have budgeted a night out on a special ‘deal’ night where ever we will go eat

  4. Mom permalink
    February 7, 2011 9:44 PM

    For some it may sound old fashioed but having dinner on the table when your Mann walks in the door is too. Here is what I have tried, be clean when he comes through the door. (not saying you are dirty) I will wash my face and throw on a little make-up, deorderant, perfume, and almost always a clean shirt. If for no other reason than I feel better, it puts me in a better mood and what better ‘little’ something to do for your husband but to be in a ‘better’ mood.
    (of course I guess you could go ‘fried green tomatoes’ and dress in siran wrap and meet him at the door!)

    • February 7, 2011 10:02 PM

      @Mom: You are lucky, I checked the rating on “Fried Green Tomatoes.” Its PG-13, that was the rating limit for comments. So you’re comment can stay. ;P

Trackbacks

  1. How I was awarded “The Worst Mom of the Year” (& Week #2) « Becoming a MANN

Leave a Reply

