Skip to content

Lack of Motivation

May 20, 2010

I am sooo sorry that I haven’t posted anything in a while. We have been out of town for the last week and didn’t have good internet connections. I apologize.

In my last post I mentioned that we had to reschedule with an insurance agent because I was too embarrassed to let him see my house and the mess inside it. The new appointment was set for Thursday morning of last week. I had a very difficult time leaving my plan of action (deep cleaning and organizing one room at a time) to straighten up the entire house. While I probably had plenty of time to make the house at least presentable, I wasn’t able to motivate myself to get much done.

The stress of cleaning added with a busy schedule (organizing a group of teenagers to cook and prepare a baked potato bar for about 80 people on Wednesday, plus 3 appointments on Thursday and packing for a week-long vacation), led to a few heated discussions in the Mann household. The house was still a mess when the insurance agent arrived and I thought I might die. In the end though, he didn’t even come inside the house.

Now that we are back at home from our trip, I have seemed to have lost my momentum. I would like to start cleaning right where I left off, but I’m noticing the messes that have appeared in areas I’ve already worked on. I also know that if I don’t unpack our suitcases today, they might not get unpacked until I need them for the next trip. I’m also looking at the clock. It’s almost 4 in the afternoon already and I haven’t done much of anything today. Matt will be home soon and I tend to drop everything when he comes home so that we can have some family time before the baby goes to bed.

In order to get back on track, I’ve decided that my goal for the rest of today is to unpack and get the living room back to the state it was before all the interruptions. This doesn’t seem too daunting and I’m hoping it will help me get motivated so I can start working on my list again tomorrow. Wish me luck!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    May 21, 2010 8:20 PM

    Remeber that evry elephant is only eaten ONE bite at a time.

  2. kaylainsoutheastasia permalink
    June 11, 2010 4:25 AM

    Kandice,
    Just caught up on your blog. Let me just say you’re doing an awesome job! I know it might not feel like it, but you’re already a lot further than you think! I have issues with exercising. I hate it! It’s hard for me to even admit that I hate it and I have no set-in-stone plans to change, although hopefully Amy Sherrill and I can start running ‘together’ soon. I guess I just want to say that we all struggle with something and make it out to be this huge thing that we hate ourselves for. You might look at your living room and hate yourself, but I look at pictures of the healthy me and hate myself. Just hold firm to the fact that we still reflect His glory even through our ugly.
    So glad I can keep up with you guys from over here! Keep the posts coming!

Leave a Reply

