Skip to content

Here’s the Weekend Update

May 10, 2010

Well, I haven’t been doing so great on goal #1 since my last post.  I have not had a quiet time 3 out of the past 4 days. I had decided to spend at least 15 minutes every night before bed reading my Bible and praying, but lately I’ve been staying up so late that I’ve been too tired. I’m going to try and go to bed earlier this week, but if I don’t get better at having my quiet times, then I will have to find a new time slot to have them.

As for goal #2, I’ve done alright.  Friday was a good day and I got a lot accomplished, but Saturday and Sunday ended up being family days so I didn’t work on the house at all.

Friday, I cleaned all of Kaylynn’s big toys like her Jumperoo and Laugh ‘n Learn Playhouse. I hadn’t let her play in the Jumperoo for probably a month because of the amount of dust that had collected on it. After I cleaned it, she was so happy to play in it again that she stayed in it for an hour. That gave me time to dust and clean our entertainment center.

Two things I learned about Murphy’s Concentrated Oil Soap…

1.) I really love how it smells, but maybe that’s just because I’m pregnant; and

2.) you should always keep the lid on it. It is a concentrated soap and the label says “pure vegetable oil.” These two factors, make it very difficult to clean a large spill off the carpet.

Confession of the week: our insurance company will not insure our home anymore because we do not have central heating and air. An agent from another insurance company was suppose to inspect our house this morning and then give us a quote to be insured by them.

Here is the confession: I had my husband call and say that “something came up” because I couldn’t stand the thought of someone walking through my messy home. Yikes! Please tell me I’m not the only one who has ever done this. This blog is a safe place; let’s hear your confessions.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Dana Hilton permalink
    May 10, 2010 2:25 PM

    I have SOOOOO done that! I hate living in C.H.A.O.S. (cant have anyone over syndrome) I had friends that wanted to come over the other day and I had to make excuses as to why they couldnt come over! I have a question. How do you properly use murphys? evey time i have tried to use it it makes every thing horribly oily and it does not fell clean!

    • May 20, 2010 11:54 AM

      Dana, I love the C.H.A.O.S acronym. I might start using it because it describes so accurately how I feel about my home most of the time. As for your question about Murphy’s… it is a concentrated soap, so be sure to dilute it according to the directions on the bottle and give it plenty of time to dry before placing objects back on your furniture or floors.

  2. Mom permalink
    May 12, 2010 7:56 AM

    Seriously! Do you remember who I am and how you learned how to be this way?

  3. August 14, 2010 12:38 PM

    they wont insure you because you dont have central air or heat, thats silly. Especially since the houses I have been looking at buying dont have that either. ugh

    yeah we chronically live in the you cant come over. It was because the living room was always destroyed by ferrets.. ferrets are gone now so maybe that will change?

Leave a Reply

