Skip to content

A Look Into My Living Room

May 7, 2010

Today was the first day of working towards my second goal: to maintain a clean and organized home. I woke up late and the baby was needing a little more attention than normal, so I got a late start. But I still put on my apron and recited my Housekeeping Mission Statement, which to my surprise did not feel as corny as I expected.

A few days ago I decided I would start in the living room and work my way through the house, one room at a time. I took some before pictures of the living room, but before I show them to you, I must tell you how difficult this is for me. If you came over to my house today and knocked on the door, I would do everything I could to keep you outside the house. As you look through these pictures, I am letting you see a part of my life that I try so hard to hide. But I feel this is a necessary part of my journey, so here we go…

View from the front door

View from the front door

View from the windows

View from the windows

Shew, glad we got that over with. If you don’t think that was too bad, just wait till we get to the spare room that will eventually become the new nursery.

To get this mess taken care of, I came up with a list of everything that needs to be cleaned in the living room and how often it should be cleaned. My goal is to clean everything now and then to maintain that cleanliness as I move on to other rooms. Here is my cleaning list for this room categorized by how often it should be done…

Daily

  • Tidy up

Twice a Week

  • Vacuum
  • Sweep Entryway

Weekly

  • Dust
  • Mop entryway

Monthly

  • Spot clean walls
  • Door
  • Vacuum couch
  • Spot clean carpet
  • Windows

Four Times Per Year

  • Baseboards
  • Vents
  • Curtains
  • Vacuum under/ behind furniture

Yearly

  • Shampoo carpets
  • Fireplace
  • Walls

Today I was able to clean the windows, most of the toys, one wall, and do some organizing. I don’t feel like I get to cross much off my list, but I know that what I did, I did well.

Some things that I learned today… how to fold out the windows so I can clean the outside while staying inside the house. That once I have a clean home, I will feel more free to participate  in miscellaneous activities that come up without feeling like I should be cleaning instead. And that even though I am focusing on one area of the house, I still need to keep up with other things like the dishes.

Oops! I forgot to do the dishes today.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 7, 2010 11:32 AM

    This DID make me feel better… Especially the shot of your sink at the end. So it’s not only *mine* that looks like that…!!

  2. Kala Vicena permalink
    May 7, 2010 12:19 PM

    Well I should be cleaning my own mess but I needed a little motivation to get it done.

Leave a Reply

