Skip to content

And the Journey Begins…

April 30, 2010

I’m going to start my journey to becoming a better wife and mommy by focusing on just a couple of my goals at a time. I’ll start with the two goals that I feel are most important: having a daily reflection time spent reading my Bible and praying and maintaining a clean and organized home.

The first one is the most important. I don’t feel that I will truly be able to accomplish any of my other goals without first building up my relationship with God. Above all, my prayer is that I will become the woman who God wants me to be.  If I am not in constant communication with God, how will I know who this woman is?

Fortunately, this goal will probably be the easiest for me to attain. I already have regular, just not daily, quiet times. Prayer is a part of my daily life but I would like to be more disciplined in setting aside time specifically for prayer and Bible reading everyday. In order to reach this goal, I plan on spending at least 15 minutes every evening reading my Bible and writing in my prayer journal. I will report back to you, my readers, on how I am doing in this area and I expect you to help keep me accountable.

While my first goal might be the easiest for me to reach, my second goal is probably going to be the most difficult. I have never, ever in my entire life been clean and organized. This issue causes the most turmoil and stress in our home and I desperately want to teach my children how to be better at keeping a house clean than I have ever been.

I have tried so many different tactics to improve in this area and none have ever consistently worked. I have researched the internet in hopes of finding help for the chronically messy person, but have managed to only find cleaning tips. This, however, is not the issue. I know how to clean; I just don’t.

So now, I ask for your help. When you have a big task, are forming new habits, trying to reach a difficult goal, or do something that goes against everything in your nature, what do you do? What works for you? A detailed plan? Small rewards at each step? Big rewards at the end? A support group? Psychologist, maybe?

I will wait for your response then make my plan of attack. And please remember that my blog is new, which means you might be my only reader. Which also means that if you don’t respond, I may never reach my goals! There is a lot weighing on your shoulders. Please help me!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Darla Jo Mann permalink
    April 30, 2010 10:37 PM

    Kandice,

    You are already a step ahead of the majority and especially me- kl in becoming a Mann! I keep trying, but you have defined goals! Excellent!

    I attended a seminar this week with AMY DAVIS, mother of 7, who is now CEO of her own Mommy company. Check out her inspiring website at http://www.inspiringmoms.com.

    Also, I am always inspired by the monthly newsletter of Mary Kaye Mueller famous for ‘remembering and counting your gratitudes’- everyday list 8 things in which you are grateful! Your microwave counts!!! http://www.8togreat.com

    Love, Your Aunt Jo

  2. May 1, 2010 1:10 AM

    Nice work on your first blog posting. The first goal is a great goal and the second one well, I can’t say much because Amy organizes all the time and keeps our house clean, but it sure is nice when she can tell me exactly where something is. Maybe that will help. I started a blog as well for Rockaway check it out at http://www.rockawaybeachmonews.com/blog

  3. May 2, 2010 11:04 AM

    Hey Kandice,

    I don’t know if this helps at all, but I am trying to be less messy too! I think the main thing is to just realize what thinking pattern causes you to be messy in the first place.

    For me, I have an “all or nothing” kind of mindset in which I think, “I can’t sweep and mop the floors, so why should I put my dishes in the sink, it already looks so messy!”, etc. I am trying to remind myself that if I just take the time to put the little things away right away, then I will have time to get to the big jobs like sweeping and mopping. I ALWAYS have to make it a conscious decision, it does NOT happen automatically (yet…)

    So maybe if you can figure out why you are messy, you will be able to fight it! Hope this helps!!

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

